Umaga announces ITM Cup team

Counties Manukau Head Coach Tana Umaga and his Assistant Coach Steve Jackson have today announced their Steelers ITM Cup team for 2012.

Umaga said “The team is a blend of local young talent and players that we believe that can add value to our campaign.”

“We are excited with the look of our team but realize there is a lot of hard work to be done prior to the season starting.  There is a bit of excitement among the players and management which is great.”

In a new initiative Counties Manukau Rugby Football Union in association with Pak N Save Pukekohe will give all kids 13 years and under FREE entry to all of the Steelers home games at ECOLight Stadium this year.

Steelers’ season members are on sale now starting from $50 for a South Auckland Motors embankment pass or $100 for a grandstand pass.

2012 Steelers Squad

Daniel Adongo (Blue Bulls) – Lock
Bundee Aki (Patumahoe) – Midfield back
David Bason (Onewhero) – Halfback
Adam Cathcart (Onewhero) – Loose forward
Jamie Chipman (Pukekohe) – Lock
DJ Forbes (Karaka) – Loose forward
Frank Halai (Pukekohe) – Outside back
Peter Hale (Pukekohe) – Prop
Kane Hancy (Patumahoe) – First five-eight/halfback
Baden Kerr (Karaka) – First five-eighth
Ray Laulala (Onewhero) – Utility back
Fritz Lee (Ardmore Marist) – Loose forward
Rey Lee-Lo (Karaka) – Midfield back
Tyrone Lefau (Ardmore Marist) – Midfield back
Simon Lemalu (Waiuku) – Prop
Tim Nanai-Williams (Manurewa) – Outside back
Augustine Pulu (Karaka) – Halfback
Tony Pulu (Bombay) – Outside back
Ronald Raaymakers (Waiuku) – Lock/Loose forward
Mahonri Schwalger (Chiefs) – Hooker
Mark Selwyn (Manurewa) – Loose forward
Sherwin Stowers (Ardmore Marist) – Outside back
Matt Talaese (Manurewa) – Prop
Maka Tatafu (Waiuku) – Prop
Suliasi Taufalele (Ardmore Marist) – Hooker
Jimmy Tupou (Patumahoe) – Loose forward/Lock
Ahsee Tuala (Manurewa) – Utility back